Fireborn: Phoenix and the Frost Palace

Fireborn: Phoenix and the Frost Palace
Aisling Fowler
Harper Collins Children’s Books

The saga continues with Twelve, (she of fiery powers) now adopting her aptly chosen name, Phoenix. With these powers though, comes responsibility so when Nara, a representative of the long-lost witch clan arrives from the frost palace of Icegaard, begging for Phoenix’s help, she realises that her fire power is their only hope: Icegaard and the whole world of Ember are in grave danger from a dark force called the Shadowseam. So, together with fellow Hunters Five and Six and the not fully-fledged Seven. she travels north to the frost palace.

Bound for Icegaard too, only taking a separate path, is Dog. Other characters from the first book are also here, for on the trail of the Hunters are Morgren and Victory.

It’s crucial for the mission that Phoenix learns to gain absolute control over her magic; this is a huge challenge. She has Nara’s guidance and support but that dark force grows stronger with each passing day. Is this a battle that she just cannot win?

Once again Aisling Fowler snares our attention from the start, immersing readers in a wondrous world of magic, monstrous creatures new and old, witches and dreadful dangers. There’s tension throughout, plenty of action and downright scary moments that will set your heart thudding, and poignant ones too; and what a cliff-hanger of an ending – phew! I read this on a long haul flight and never have I known the hours pass so fast: I just couldn’t put it down. I wish the time would pass that quickly till the third book comes.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.